Hello, hello!

It´s been a long time since we know man is able to speak and communicate with the world surrounding him. We firstly only drew, but as many things on Earth, we was also able to develop our language skills – we started to write poetry. Now, why did we do so? Why do we need poetry for example? Originally, the world for man was simple – you must hunt to survive and learn things that makes you survive. I´m not saying we didn´t say (or express) love or hatred, because I don´t know it, but I may guess, surviving was a priority. How does it look like now?

With every new discover, a great invation, a wonderful book that changed people´s lifes, we felt the necessity to express our emotions, how we feel about what just has appeared in our life, we want the world to know it. I feel like if we hadn´t shared it, we wouldn´t have improved at all, or at least not that much. Hence, obviously, we speak or write (not mentioning actions like painting or drawing that express what we think, too) to communicate with people, but for me this is not the main reason. We just want them to know, how we feel. Surely, many times an announcement goes together with our emotions.

Now, we treat our native language, many times – not always, as an unpleasant duty that we have to go through the motions and forget. We don’t appreciate how wonderful tool we mastered with our mouth, how beautifully it can be used to discover the world. Here is how I see languages. 

This opinion has evolved and it wasn’t always present in my life. Because as I had to discover my passion, that is languages, I also had to learn more about how I should deal with it, how to manage with the obstacles that I face. Untill now there were three significant and clearly visible steps of the ladder:

  1. The discover of languages. The first time when languages gained any meaning for my, I was like: “OOOH, I want to learn them all, I’m gonna speak them perfectly, I’m gonna rule the world.” I still kind of think so, but with more humility and with a broader perspective.
  2. Hard-working. I knew, when I was so excited about all those languages, that it’s gonna be hard work until I manage to master one language, not saying about the list of 24 languages (that was the first list, now I stopped counting). So I went to the other side of the spectrum, I worked too hard, too long, I was too stressed not seeing the results, simply: I went through the phase of “the thing you love will kill you”. Then relief came.
  3. Keep calm and enjoy. Not long time ago I went up on the third step, that is: come on, have your dream of speaking all of those languages, it’s O.K. to have it in order in your head, but work on your learning style first, enjoy it when you’re too lazy to learn anything new, deal with mistakes and failures, it’s a natural process (in which Natalia helped me a lot, thank you so much!).

I cannot predict wether there’s going to be a fourth step, but stopping by for this one, I may say that since the very first step of the ladder, I unconsiously knew, and I realized it recently, that the thing is the following: I treat languages as an adventure game. I play with words, grammar, I have a lot of fun listening to music, watching movies and talking, because it’s my PASSION. I don’t take it as a duty, because I have to learn. No, I do it, because it’s an addictive game that I created for myself, I enjoy it, you don’t have to. That’s also the reason why you will not understand how “The Sims” is awesome to me if you didn’t even play it and that’s why you may not understand me. But now you know how I see it.

I would also like to know, what are languages for you, even if you don’t have any particular interest in learning them. Share!

Take care,

sing

